Assessment 

I consistently find that whenever I take personality, occupational, or self assessment tests, I always come out of them with a feeling of disappointment. Mainly this feeling is a result of being placed inside of a box. I know who I am, I know what I was made for, and I know my ultimate end goal for life. That goal is to “Go therefore and make disciples, baptizing them in the name of The Father, The Son, an The Holy Spirit.”(Matt 28:19) Everything outside of that goal for me is just a side project. Consequently that feeling of everything being a side project and having my mind set on more eternal thing puts me in a tough spot. It puts me in a tough spot because when most people toil and labor and distress and plan over what it is God has in store for them, I am in a constant state of “going with the flow” I tend to live in a “whatever You have for me Lord” mentality. This mentality does however put me at a disadvantage to those who toil over their future because often times I come unprepared or uninformed over what it is exactly I am doing and I have to play catch up when I am already neck deep in the waters of the stream I am “flowing” with (example: Coming to Liberty). But this brings us back to my original point. Rarely do I pay to much attention to the direction in which personality tests point me in because I don’t let them dictate my future, heck, I don’t even let myself dictate my own future, my “path” can change at any given moment. This is best exemplified by my decision to come to Liberty. The reason I came to Liberty was; not because I wanted to; not because it had anything better than the next school could offer me; not for the location; not for the social environment; not even for the education. I came here because I had put my trust in the Lord and faithfully waited on him to provide. First he provide my hasty acceptance; then he provided an actual reality of going; then he did something crazy and he took away every good reason I had for coming in the form of my best friend and the comfort I would have had in his being here; then he provided with a clear direction as to what he wanted me to do in the school and the people he had the intention for me to impact; then almost immediately after placing my heart in this school he took away my chance of going in the form of finances; and finally he provided me with the money I needed in order to go right as I had lost hope and only 3 weeks before the start of the school year. All this to prove that all I had to do was be patient. I never worried. In my time of seeking out and being accepted into a school, I knew God would provide with a direction. In the time of weighing my options, I knew God would place my heart in a school. In my time of financial disarray with the clock winding down, I knew God would provide and even if he didn’t, I was content in going somewhere else. What does any of this have to do with whether or not I agree with a career assessment test? Well to answer that let me go back to my original statement. I DON’T LIKE BEING PUT IN A BOX, AND NEITHER CAN YOU EVEN TRY TO PUT GOD IN A BOX! So if I am to be a vessel for the treasure that is of the Gospel and Christ’s love for us, then I know that God can use me by any means necessary. Never in the entire book of the bible did God call on the most qualified person, rather He qualified the person in which he called to do His great work. Therefore I end with this, never limit yourself to what a test written by man tells you, rather “know that the testing of your faith (by God) produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete lacking in nothing.”( James 1:3-4)   
This was a paper I wrote for a class, but I liked it, and also I have been wanting to post on this for a long time and had writers block, so I figured this should suffice. 

It feels good to write.

From the mouth of God’s humble and broken servant.

Leave a comment